What type of world do you want? V

QuarterBit – Kyoto05

In this poster I was thinking about what would it look like if the worlds frontiers where rearranged taking in count the carbon dioxide emissions per capita. Or if you want, how much are we ‘invading’ other countries. To achieve this I’ve taken data from the US Department of Energy’s Carbon Dioxide Information Analysis Center for the United Nations Statistics Division regarding 1990 to 2004, I’ve calculated each country maximum, minimum and their average. I’ve then scaled each country (or group of territories) according to the values obtained, using each countries geometrical center for the axis of that scaling. Each one received a different color for better reading. Finally each ‘scalled’ country was turned in to a rectangle using the geometrical center in order to give a better perception of the area each one takes. I know that there are more correct ways of showing this kind of data, but my goal with this series is to present visual appealing data rather that to present accurate ways of showing the same data.

Poster: A2 Type: Helvetica

By: Pedro Monteiro

About Pedro Monteiro

As Digital Art Coordinator I've been working on planing and designing solutions to publish across different digital platforms, as the iPad, Android tablets, etc. As an consultant for INNOVATION I've been working on concept, project managing and designing applications for several media.
This entry was posted in Design and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What type of world do you want? V

  1. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as I provide
    credit and sources back to your website? My website is in
    the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would really benefit from some of
    the information you present here. Please let me know if this ok with you.
    Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

